Emails: (parentheses)

Principal Investigator
Yoel E. Stuart, PhD (ystuart)
Assistant Professor
Curriculum Vitae (last updated 16 February 2022)

Postdoctoral Researchers

Jacopo N. Cerasoni (jcerasoni) 2022 – Present
Jacopo joined the lab in summer 2022 to work on the fossil stickleback project. He is an anthropologist by training, with a PhD from the Institute of Archaeological Sciences at the University of Tubingen and the Jena Max Planck Institute, both in Germany. Website

Masters Students

Katie Van Dame (kvandame) 2021 – Present
Katie is in the Biology program. She is interested in processes that lead to diversification within and among populations. In particular, she will likely study sexual dimorphism in threespine stickleback.

Tristan Kosciuch (tkosciuch) 2020 – Present
Tristan is in the Bioinformatics program. He collected a stickleback data set from more than 40 lakes in summer 2020 to ask questions about landscape ecology and evolution by incorporating large-scale remote-sensed environmental data.

Bryan Galligan (bgalligan) 2020 – 2022
Bryan recently defended his thesis for his Masters in Philosophy. Congratulations, Bryan! He has past and ongoing interest in ecology and subsistence fishing. I am advising him as he pursues questions about larval recruitment and dispersal by quahog clams in Narragansett Bay, particularly as abiotic conditions like hypoxia change. He has moved to Kenya to work for the Jesuit Ecology Network Africa (JENA), where he is investigating social and scientific aspects of sustainable fisheries. He will stay on as a Lab Associate.

Twyla Neely-Streit (tneelystreit) 2021 – 2022
Twyla is working on the nuclear Daphnia project. She has taken and sectioned cores in the field, prepared sediments for radioisotope dating, and isolated ephippia for hatching experiments. Those experiments started in January 2022, in the lab of our collaborator Dr. Matthew Walsh (UT Arlington).

Franklin Joaquin (fjoaquin) 2020 – 2022
Franklin was our stickleback phenotyping expert, and main wrangler of undergraduate effort. He was also working to publish his own Lake Michigan stickleback data set collected when he was an undergraduate at DePaul with Windsor Aguirre.

Samantha Swank (sswank) 2019 – 2021
Sam has started a PhD at University of Chicago, as of Fall 2021. Congrats Sam! While in the lab, she worked on a review of the genetic basis of vertebrate limb loss and collected and analyzed data for a project on the potential role of Pitx1 in squamate limb loss. Amongst many other things. She received an honorable mention for her NSF GRFP application to study aDNA in stickleback fish.

Undergraduate Researchers Undergrads drive research in the Stuart lab. They’ve been involved in nearly every project, and phenotyped thousands of threespined stickleback to boot.

Raheyma Siddiqui (2019 – Present)

Clara Fix (2019 – 2021)

Allison Ozark (2019 – Present)

Ethan Elazegui (2019 – Present)

Sophia Janidlo (2019 – Present)

Gannon Cottone (2020)

Ola Abughoush (2020)

Anu Chaudhary (2020)

Rebecca Sullivan (2020 – 2021)

Aaron Myrold (2020 – Present)

Marielle Martin (2020 – Present)

Jason Tien (2020 – 2021)

Musharrat Islam (2020 – Present)

Chauncey Lawson-Weinert (2020 – 2021)

Alyssa Chen (2020 – 2021)

Emily Ciolak (2020 – Present)

Edmond Haddad (2020 – Present)

Jack Castro (2020 – 2021)

Mark Marino (2021 – Present)

Basem Altershan (2021 – 2021)

Maria Villanueva Guzman (2021 – Present)

Imaan Maniya (2021 – Present)

Megan O’Toole (2021 – Present)